The Parent Trap: Before the Plummet

Starring: Dennis Quaid, Natasha Richardson, Elaine Hendrix, and Dos Lindsey Lohanes

The first time I saw The Parent Trap I was a young, curious, and quite a cute 10 year old. Or so my mom says. I was confused regarding how there were two identical gingers with different accents and hair cuts. Of course, I was enchanted by the British accent of one, and enthused at the tom boyishness of the other.

The second time I saw The Parent Trap I was a 15 year old teenager wondering how the cute little girl(s) had morphed into the sexy redhead in Mean Girls. The third time I saw The Parent Trap was last week and I thought how sad. Sad that Natasha Richardson was dead, and sad that the adorable little girl(s) was now a drug addict.

BUT getting back to the movie I must say that it is awesome. The Parent Trap is witty, well-acted, and cute. It has character, smarts, and spunk. Dennis Quaid is awkwardly funny, Elaine Hendrix (the girlfriend) is wickedly evil, and Natasha Richardson is just plain amazing.

Lindsey Lohan though, of course, makes the movie. Without her accents, likability, and shenanigans the movie would have been mediocre at best, and I am about 99.99% confident that only Lindsey could pull the role off. Unless of course Lindsey has a secret twin, and that makes it much easier! That would make things interesting. Maybe that’s why she is in rehab so often. One goes in and the other goes out!

Rating: $9 out of $12

Leave a comment